When Spades aren’t Spades.


It has been the longest time since I put anything up here and that is entirely as a result of fear and partly laziness. The following piece is loosely based on an incident that I saw happen. So, here goes…

 

The young man who was engaged in the scuffle was winning. Of course he would. He was stronger and heavier. People stood around looking in disgust at the spectacle before them. If said man had been among them, he would probably have passed judgement as well. He had no scruples, however, as he energetically hit the woman holding on to his shirt – delivering a slap here and a jab there. A few individuals tried to stop him but they failed in their attempts. He was enraged. He couldn’t hear the shrill voices of the women standing by calling him a coward and telling him to try someone his own size. He couldn’t hear the men telling him to stop and think about what he was doing. The only common feeling in everyone present was shock.

Few of those standing around would have understood that it didn’t begin on that day. It started the day he looked at the other girls with pretty hair and make-up only to visit her the next day when she was half ready. It started the day he started opening doors for every other girl except her because he felt she could take care of herself. And the day he coldly shut her up when she wanted to tell him about her day. The time he had rebuffed her advances and had told her he was tired. The night he had flung the dishes against the wall and left her in tears. The feeling of wanting to slap her when she tried to ask him why he was so angry.

The woman let go of his shirt and fell to the ground in a heap heaving dry sobs. She covered her face with her arms and a few of the women rushed to her to console her. He made his way through the crowd and entered the house. He didn’t make eye contact with anyone – only staring straight ahead. He couldn’t really understand what had happened but he knew that it had ended.

     *       *      *

    Most of us would agree that his actions were foolish but how many times do we end up doing things we never thought we’d do? Please let me know what you think.

7 thoughts on “When Spades aren’t Spades.

  1. Hey sis!! I love the way you pointed out the progression of the problem. From thoughts to anger to scorn and then to violence! Thoughts are powerful, they are our boats in the sea of life, if we do not paddle in the right direction, we end up at a wrong destination! I’ve always wondered what goes on in the minds of wife beaters! Wouldn’t want to find out sha o! Looll! Great work sis! I read your storty on bella naija yesterday and I cried!! Because I imagined all the children that go through that in our world!! More Ink to your pen!!

  2. Thank you so much for your heartfelt comment. You seem to have me mixed up with someone else that posted on the BN site. I’m flattered tho 🙂

  3. I don’t really know the mechanics of the short-story, so I won’t even try critiquing your work like I know what’s up. But this I know, I like the way you told the story, I enjoyed reading the line, “It started the day he looked at the other girls with pretty hair and make-up only to vist her the next day when she was half ready.” I had to stop and think there, ‘that does happen’. And the end of the story, I think, was well ended, lol. The story touched me quite meaningfully. So I look forward to reading more of you. Following you now on twitter. Well done.

  4. I don’t really know the mechanics of the short-story, so I won’t even try critiquing your work like I know what’s up. But this I know, I like the way you told the story, I enjoyed reading the line, “It started the day he looked at the other girls with pretty hair and make-up only to vist her the next day when she was half ready.” I had to stop and think there, ‘that does happen’. And the end of the story, I think, was well ended, lol. The story touched me quite meaningfully. So I look forward to reading more of you. Following you now on twitter. Well done..

  5. Thanks a lot Samuel. I’m hoping to keep putting up more pieces here so do check back and if you like a piece don’t hesitate to share on fb or twitter.

Leave a Reply

