Sky Blues


EVA Airways Economy Class Cabin

The signs pull into view,

The officials with their tags and uniforms,

Ushering I with my forms

To the lines for luggage and pass,

Before entering economy class

Shoes off for the scan-o-matic,

Along with anything electronic.

Long lines to the tarmac,

Overhead storage – in with the back pack.

 

The anonymousness of the space,

Looking around to keep pace.

People asleep even before lift-off.

Young people returning to roots,

Men on a business commute.

Strapped in and snug

As a bug in a rug.

The low hum of the cogs,

Voices over the intercom,

The timelessness of that cocoon,

No way to count but by the moving hands.

Being thrown back in your seat,

Moving forward at high speed

I alone with my thoughts,

My planning and my plots.

Occasionally glancing at the watch,

The whites outside the window causing blotch.

Land comes into view.

The end of this aerial move.

I want to tell the head on board,

‘Let me off here, I’m seriously bored’

Coming down to terra firma,

And now time to do the clearance.

I wheel out my luggage,

To continue the rest of my passage.

 

14 thoughts on “Sky Blues

  1. Ah, I absolutely love traveling and this poem here makes me wanna be on an airplane right now! Very good one!

  2. love traveling,,lovely reminder..

    Please feel free to share 1 to 3 poems with our potluck poetry today, first time participants could use old poems or poems unrelated to our theme, Thanks..
    Happy Monday!

    Love your blog, your poetry is impressive..

Leave a Reply

