Independent Woman?


Oh so much to do, to do today, tomorrow, the n...

Image by Chapendra via Flickr

Thanks to serving the nation, I am living (enduring?) the dream of living on my own in a rented place. How it has been so far? Well….

  • Bills, bills, bills

One of the worst things about living on your own is the bills to pay. Light, water, waste… you name it. They usually seem small but they do stack up and I mean quite a chunk of change goes in that direction. I have more respect for my dad now.

  • Budgets

I have had to become a babe on a budget. No time or funds for excesses. Every trip has to be well planned out and mapped for minimum expenditure. Can I hear frugal?

That’s right. The place stinks if I don’t clean and I have to live with it. If I don’t cook, I starve. Cooking, cleaning, buying house supplies…. I believe I have actually developed a sixth sense about house supplies.

I’m in charge of my time and I have to juggle housekeeping, work and visiting friends. I have to decide what to do and since I spend about thirty minutes commuting to and from work, I really have my work cut out for me.

Running a house isn’t all tedium, though. It’s nice to be able to sleep in when there’s no work, decide when and what to cook, when to do chores and stuff and of course, the respect when I call home is simply amazing. Being on my own sure has its perks.

2 thoughts on “Independent Woman?

  1. I loved your post because I can relate. I definitely feel like an adult now, living on my own. I have an appreciation for my mother as well. I think wow, look at all the responsibilities, cleaning, cooking, working, balancing a budget, time management, etc. I have been on my own for 1 year and 4 months and I still have some things to work on. But as you said despite all these things there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I do have a place I can call my own and its great.

Leave a Reply

