To the unknown


Tomorrow will be the day I leave the knowns of my life in Lagos for the unknown of another state that till a few days ago meant nothing more to me than “states and capitals” of social studies.

In the light of all that I hoped and dreamed of especially not wanting to go far from home, my desires have suddenly become simple. All I want is a simple life there; free of any distress and a place to stay. Nothing like the unknown to simplify tastes.

I have gone through the five stages of grief in the process of leaving home and I am in a sixth stage – hope. I grieve for the life I am leaving behind and for the people who will no longer be an earshot from me but I have hope; hope that I am going to meet a better life and that God is making a better place for me where I go. It is with hope and faith that I go.

Leave a Reply

