Ditch it…


You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.
– C. S. Lewis

It’s not working… three words a great many people hate to hear. In no scenario do those words mean anything good.  How I love to be right. To get things right the first time. To never make any mistakes and never have to change my approach.  And how I love to build up lots of excuses for not changing. It’s the way I am. I’ve always been like that. If anybody can’t take it, they should leave. But all excuses for refusal to evolve must give way to reason.

My society doesn’t even encourage change in any form. I always hear things like – It’s our tradition. That’s the way we have always done it. Now please get it – I’m all for tradition but only when it is shown to have a positive effect. Society professes to love progress but one look around us shouts out the contrary but what is clear is that we seem to be resisting change with all the strength of gripping crocodiles’ jaws and are tenaciously holding on tightly to what exists.

At one of my DLA classes, the facilitator, Pastor Tola Seedy made a point that really drives it home. Here goes; The Pharisees weren’t such bad people. They only so loved to hold on to the old ways. They believed they had and were the best in everything and couldn’t bear to think that this upstart had come with a better way. Today, they are only viewed as the enemies of Jesus but all they were trying to do was to uphold the traditions of Moses. But here’s the rub. They held on for so long they became irrelevant. They have even viewed as bad people in our time.

That seems like a harsh warning for refusing to change but it is so relevant to note that any society and indeed any individual that didn’t embrace positive change has crumbled and unravelled. Have I ever honestly looked at myself and evaluated and committed to change the things that do not produce the results I want? As much as I would love to have a brand and be known for something, it would be sad if I held on to ideas, habits and activities that did nothing for me. Make no mistake –  I know change is very hard and uncomfortable. It can even be downright painful. But the fruits are so rewarding. Yes, decisions made in favour of change can bring on fear and even questions that I don’t want to answer. But the commitment to change is its own power. And the power from commitment is its own reward.

I have decided to ditch ideas that haven’t been proved to work for me. It does me no good no matter who brought it up. If a course of action isn’t helping, I commit to change it. If a lifestyle doesn’t bring out my best, I resolve to gain another.

I will ditch it – whatever it is… if it isn’t working.

If the facts don’t fit the theory, change the theory.

– Hercule Poirot.

Leave a Reply

